Blues Jam Tribute to Chuck Berry

courtesy of Chuck Berry website

courtesy of Chuck Berry website

What is rejuvenating than a rock n’ roll guitar ? Chuck Berry at 87 is still ‘rocking and reeling’, touring the world and playing monthly at the Blueberry Hill (restaurant bar) in St Louis.

From Taiji to Singing the Blues: a little tribute to Chuck Berry – King and Father of Rock n’ Roll – Malacca April 2013

 

Some-while ago  in a far-away-place – a remote corner of mountainous Laos – I had a memorable experience with the people via the Blues:

Jan 20, 2011 Ban Kaeo (village) on the Nam Poui – tributary of the Mekong river –  Xayaboury, Laos : –   It was full moon night, I took out the harp to play the Blues, all of a sudden villagers appear all around to listen, young and old. Wow what a happening! I was greatly encouraged and moved.

Lao Blues 1The youth on my left requested for a fast number. I played Chuck Berry’s ‘Johnny B Goode’. He said please explain the lyrics! I said, man… you’re Johnny B Goode who lives out in the woods – like you – no electricity and no pipe water. He didn’t know how to read or write so well…but he could play the guitar..n his mama says someday you’ll be a star… They laughed and he asked me to bring him a guitar the next time I come and teach him how to play.  A most memorable night indeed! – Photo by Geh Poh Khong

9 Comments

Filed under Home

9 responses to “Blues Jam Tribute to Chuck Berry

  1. I will definitely check these things out

  2. Ya, check it out from the King of rock n’ roll, man: http://www.chuckberry.com/ – for rejuvenation and longevity !

  3. Nice blog right here! Additionally your website rather a lot up fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink to your host? I desire my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  4. The web host is wordpress. A friend set this up, that’s all about what I know other than writing and posting stories.

  5. I simply want to mention I’m very new to blogs and definitely loved you’re web site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You really come with tremendous well written articles. Thanks for sharing your website page.

  6. You are so interesting! I do not believe I have read a single thing like that before. So great to discover somebody with original thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  7. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

  8. Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed bby your site.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certaainly digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefiyed from this website.

Leave a Reply

